Is it common that most Scouts find it uncool to be in Scouts? I myself was always trying to keep it on the down-low when I was in Elementary School, and really started having some pride in it when I was a Freshman or Sophomore.

I know a few Scouts in the unit who have similar feelings about it. Figured it was an interesting enough thing to see how common it is.

• Replies 110
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Something I dug up a while back. Nuf said. This Scout Can. Scott Miller 2005-03-02 A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty,

I still remember something I heard at a fundraiser meeting about getting the boy scouts out in their uniforms in public to sell popcorn/fundraise whatever.   Girls Perception: 15 yr old boy in un

Scouts is only "uncool" if the scouts let it be uncool. It's up to them to make the program "cool." I know they boys get lots of comment when they are in the newspaper for something "cool" like buil

In Middle School in particular, lads want to fit in. In that environment, scouts is uncool. Mostly da goofy uniforms and such. ;) If yeh did the same stuff with a church group or outdoors club it would be OK.

By sophomore or junior year in high school, it's still uncool but not as big an issue. Boys in high school are lookin' to stand out as much as fit in, and high schoolers tend to find niches of friends where they can be themselves.

So yah, sure, most scouts will report at least that their classmates think scouts is uncool.

Beavah

A few decades ago, middle school was easy to be a scout, but I was the only kid in my High School who wore his uniform on Scouting's anniversary. My classmates were good people, and respected individuals. But I was also the guy who stood up for bullied kids, even when my friends were doing the bullying. In any case I carried Scouting with as much pride as the QB carried football.