Age requirement guidelines

I am new to the scouts, please excuse any incorrect terminology. A den leader keeps having her 12 year old boy scout watch over a group of cub scouts as they venture off to areas non-visible to adults. Two parents told the leader they were uncomfortable for a child to be responsible for a group of children. The leader's response was that the boy (her son) was a boy scout so it's fine. This is unacceptable to me, so I always tag along with the boys. One time the boys went on a hike and found a large piece of rusty tin roof, a few boys (including the 12 yr old boyscout) began to jump and run on it, I explained to them that what they were doing was dangerous, only the boy scout refused to listen and kept jumping. I tried to read the age appropriate guidelines, I can't find the answer to my question- is it acceptable for a boy scout to monitor a group of cub scouts with no adult supervision? If anyone could answer this, I'd very much appreciate it.

There should be two adult trained leaders present at all Cub Scout activities.  This den leader is blatantly disregarding the scouts’ safety.  You should discuss this with the Cubmaster if the den leader is not responding.  If interested, I’d recommend you take the BSA youth protection training and you will quickly see that the den leader is violating it. 

• Upvote 1

A 12-year-old Boy Scout (Den Chief or not) is not an adult and cannot take the place of an adult for YPT purposes.

The Guide to Safe Scouting says:

"Two-deep leadership on all outings required.  A minimum of two registered adult leaders, or one registered leader and a participating Scout’s parent, or another adult is required for all trips and outings.  One of these adults must be 21 years of age or older."

While this doesn't sound like an "outing", Cub Scouts still require adult supervision.  Den Chiefs are activities assistants, but they are still youth - not adults.

• Upvote 1