2 Questions - Opinion Desired

After I introduce myself I have two questions that I would like answered by the forum.

I am an 18 year old Eagle Scout with 3 palms. I spent more than 2 years as a Patrol Leader, a year as SPL, and a year as a JASM. I am currently registered as an Assistant Scoutmaster, and accompanied a contingent troop to the 2010 Scout Jamboree as an adult leader. I've been a crew leader at Philmont, I've been the leader of our high adventure patrol, and I've been to two Jamborees and a NOAC. I've always respected my superior leaders, I've always thought with morals in mind. I graduated at the top of my class and was a member of three honor societies. Parents accompanying new scouts to meetings have remarked how friendly and great of a role model I am to the young scouts, and it was my quickness in getting Eagle that inspired my peer friends to stick with scouting through Eagle and beyond.

Question 1: Am I a good, moral, well-mannered role model for other scouts?

In addition to my scouting pursuits, I am openly gay and have been an atheist since the age of 13.

Question 2: Am I a good, moral, well-mannered role model for other scouts?

• Replies 170
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Based upon the information provided:

Answer 1: Yes.

Answer 2: No.

Since you are an Eagle Scout, I assume that you are Reverent. IMHO, it is possible for someone to be an atheist and still be reverent. I am reverent toward beliefs that I do not hold myself, and I assume you are the same. I am curious, though, as to how you reconcile it when you raise your right hand and say that you'll do your duty to God and country. I actually have an open mind on that subject, and that is a serious question.