Swim Check intimmidation and fear

Went to my first swim check tonight. WEll wait, let me correct that. Participated as a swimmer in a swim check tonight.

This was actually the second swimcheck I attended.

Of course , being a newbie, I didn't know ( during the first check) that leaders did it too, so I showed up in blue jeans and t shirt and flip flops.

Anyways, went to swim check tonight to make up for my not getting checked last time.

Since one of the few people who wee not immediately local to the poo( 30 miles from my house) I was lucky in that I got to go first.

That did not bother me at all. But I was completely aware of the fact that ALL eyeswere on me, All 400 and something another number of them.

Again, I am not shy in this regard, but I do see why and how many scouts get locked up and loath swim checks.

Not every scout is okay with all eyes on him. The stress of dong well is already bad enough, but add in that everybody is whatching you, andf that they could see you ckoke, lock up or just fail the swim check ...well man, I totally understand it.

I am a good swimmer myself. Not a Michael Phelps by any means, but can handle my own just fine - thank you very much.

So I'm not completely sure why I was the only one doing it when I did it, but after I went, they started doing 5 scouts at a time in 5 different lanes.

Anyways, just a little bit of insite and learning....which I do value, by the way.

We have a swim check today at the local pool. Those that pass will be canoeing next weekend, those that don't will not. I'm sure some are stressing over it.

I gave the new guys some inside pointers on how to pass, use the breast or side stroke, not the crawl, and do restful back strokes by counting to 3 between strokes. I believe most were not listening, we'll see.

Pack...

I guess that once you wear the tu-tu..the bashfullness is long gone! :)