Dissscusssing current events

The parent thread led me to remember my time at college. I was an out-of-state student at a mid west Big Ten school in Indiana, in engineering (to start with, at least). Freshman requirement was a class named "Speech 101". This was meant to help nascent engineers to improve their presentations, oratory, how to prove or back up arguments, communication skills. Among other things, we developed debate skills and research in fields other than the technical stuff. Our teacher was a communications major, and also "out-of-state". He regularly tried to get us to talk about "current events", and early in the semester gave a survey of the three classes he taught. He observed that the Out-of-state students were predictably much more knowledgeable about "current events". The "in-staters" were less so, but knew about the local basketball tournament. He ended up playing an informal game he called "Stump the Hoosier". At the start of the friday class, he would put three names or items from the news on the blackboard and everyone had to define or describe who or what they were in a short sentence or phrase. If the majority of the class ( which was much more than 50% Hoosier (Indianan), correctly ID'ed the items, we ALL got an A for the day, if not, we earned what we earned...

Didn't happen very often. The extra A, I mean.

Frinstance: Kissinger, Lugar, Viet Minh...

How would that go over today, in your local school?

Well since I teach political science I'd like to think a majority in my classes would get it! But it could be a fun experiment, as long as it is done in a way that isn't offensive to any particular group of students.

(Hey I went to a big 10 school in Indiana too - probably a different one though, and if I'm guessing right, you guys manage to steal that old oaken bucket from us just about every year! Indiana, oh Indiana...)