When charges are filed...

Having no experience with this, apparently a female leader is filing charges against a male leader in my kids unit, for sexual harrassment. I am wondering if anyone has experience with this kind of situation, and what the policy from the council, or higher, is to resolve this. I won't go into specifics, but would like to know if any of you scouters know how this is handled. Thanks,

Disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer, but I do deal with labor laws in my profession. If I state anything incorrect, please correct me.

"Filing charges" with whom? Since there is no employee/employer relationship, and a scout unit is not a workplace, not sure what laws were allegedly broken. If law enforcement was called, and they pressed charges, then the CC should notify the COR and Scout Executive immediately. They will handle it from there. If law enforcement was not involved, and it's a matter of adults not acting like adults, then it's a unit issue that your CO and Committee needs to deal with.

Do everything scoutldr said now. If these are emty threats, generally they will back down when when they learned that that the Council and district are invovled. If there really is a problem, you want to get it away from the unit and into the hands of the folks who deal with these things everyday. Contact the Scout Executive, District Committee Chairman, the District Commissioner and COR now. And try to keep the number of folks in the unit who have to know about this to a need to know basis. Many times the rumors can do far more damage then the situation itself.

Barry