Civil Air Patrol & BSA dual charter

Some interesting discussions here:

http://captalk.net/index.php?topic=7716.20

The gist is, some people say that CAP membership overrules the BSA membership requirements in a joint charter, while others say members have to meet the requirements of both.

Since CAP is part of the US government, they can't discriminate against atheists, so either joint charters have to allow atheists, or they all have to go.

I'll be checking into this.

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

By my reading of the thread linked above, the term "joint charter" is a misnomer. It sounds as though the CAP units are actually the chartered organization, and apply their own rules to take precedence over the BSA's. Isn't that a local option?

Disclaimer: I have no knowledge of how CAP units work.

We have a local Venture crew who is affiliated with CAP. Not sure the arrangement. It actually seemed strange to me why they would even consider themselves Scouts. The CAP is an entirely independant organization and doesn't need any of the benefits Scouts provides. If you run your Venture crew as a unit of CAP, what's the purpose? Just run it as a CAP unit.

Tend to agree that there is some kind of confusion here. I have never heard of a dual charter; I have heard of dual chartering organizations, but they still have to adhere to the BSA charter partner agreement. Like two small churches agreeing to sponsor one unit. It would seem to me that the CAP would be chartered as a CAP unit, and the Venture Crew as Ventures. Could they do things together? Why not? They simply would do what needed to be done to make dual activities workable.

But, if somehow a CAP group wanted to charter a Venture Crew, they would still have to adhere to BSA rules, and they would then have a possible conflict within their own group. Cannot see a council even allowing it, frankly.

One of the articles has this:

Quote from: CAPR 52-16, Section 6.2