Girl Scouts Announces Co-Ed Scouting!

We'd think the Pod People had taken over.

I believe that in 10-15 years GSUSA might finally be in the right frame of mind (having retired off those most viciously and irrationally opposed) to bring up federation similar to what many European countries did first.

Seattle - You forgot the Punch line, I opened this tread expecting to see it..

APRIL FOOL'S!!!

So, since the girls can't stand the program because it's boring with no adventurous stuff, how would they attract the boys? Simply by stating "We've got girls!!"..

For girls it would be cool to say "I've joined the boy scouts".. What boy would be willing to say "I've joined the Girl Scouts".

(This message has been edited by moosetracker)

I don't see it ever happening. I don't have a daughter, so I have no experience with Girl Scouts. Of the Scouters I know who do have daughters in GS, they all tell me that they are never made to feel very welcome and can only help on the periphery. If they are that "hostile" to men and want to keep leadership almost exclusively female, I don't see them making GS co-ed.

The programs just aren't compatible for integration.

Boy Scouts teaches chivalry, and Girl Scouts teaches feminism.

This makes the Boy Scouts more likely to integrate, being the more tolerant program.

Maybe when the Girl Scouts teach home-economics and the Boy Scouts teach misogyny will my opinion change.

WHY DIDN'T THEY MAKE GSUSA COED WHEN I WAS YOUNGER ;)

Seriously though, las time I saw a Campfire member was in the early 80s, and never since. And tho think they were the BSA's official 'sister" program in the USA.

Good friend was involved in GSUSA as an male leader, and got fed up with being treated as a second class citizen.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 years later...