so how do you make a living then?

In another thread people have begun getting side tracked and discussing the relative merits of some types of jobs so I figured I'd spin off.

Yeah, I teach political science for a living. There's lots of jokes out there about that, I've heard most, some are even funny. I like to tell people that I study the rats, I'm not one of the rats. And when you study rats, you tend to get a lot of negative feedback from people who are ill-disposed to rodents.

Still I admit I have to grin when people question the worth of doing what I do. (I have a cousin who always amazes me. In one breath he can condemn the fact that his teenage son's high school social studies teachers don't teach enough gov't and civics, and then he manages to make fun of what I do for a living not three words later. He is a stock broker.) See, I teach American Government to large numbers of first year college students from all walks of life. The overwhelming majority know so very little about our system of government that it hurts. Most do not know that Congress has two chambers, that the President is not directly elected, or what a primary delegate is, let alone understanding different views on policies (or even the existence of policies at all). Most want to blame the president for everything from the price of gasoline (and sugar) to natural disasters, to human disasters, and everything in between or nearby that has gone wrong in their eyes. Most do not vote and don't know how to register either. Most can't identify the basic ideas of either major party and have never heard of any third parties. Most can't find Canada on a map (remember I live in a border state, 30 minutes' drive from the border) and have never left the country, yet are quick to mock other countries as being sub-par.