I am a high school math teacher who has used the Canvas platform for several years through our local school corporation. I download all my power point lesson plans, word documents, etc into "my clasroom" and my students can access them when they are absent, when our school goes to all e learning days for snow days(northern Indiana) or more recently when Covid hit back last March.  The teacher can also write quizzes/tests that students can take to show mastery on that topic.  I also used It for one on one tutor (canvas conference) during E learning where the student and I could hear each other and share a writeable screen( I stopped doing this recently and changed to Skype for Business this last spring due to the fact that many of our students were more familiar with Skype.)  It takes some time to learn the platform but once set up it can be a useful tool for online classes.   Not sure how students get connected to your page since our IT gurus did all that work in the summer.  I am sure I have forgotten a few details but that should give you some ideas of my uses.  

It seems like there are some Canvas demos online that we saw before the school adopted the program.  After adoption, our school IT gurus created training videos that have great tips to make pages work for the teacher.  

I would only suggest you use this if you plan to use for several years.  I would hate to see you invest many hours of set up time and then use it for one event.  Just curious how you plan to use the app.  

It’s widely used in colleges, I prefer it over Google Classroom. I’m currently a college student. I’ve never had a problem with the conferences, it’s easy to use, and overall reliable. But, please be aware that the free version of Canvas misses a decent amount of features. 

I’m not too sure how it would work as a virtual scouting event, depending on what the event is.

Edited by ItsBrian