What would you do differently in Training?

From another thread... I answered what I would do/am doing differently in Basic Adult Leader Training (based on my comments about my Wood Badge experience) I was primarily focusing on Non-Wood Badge training in my response.

What would you all do?

Nessmuk, great ideas and I can tell its something you have put a lot of thought into and the unit you serve is lucky to have you as well as the District, Council, etc. And this is a great way to move along the discussion Thank You

An aspect of training that is often overlooked is the educational level of the materials. Given the breadth of the volunteer base, this has to be an issue

Given the following scale, where should the materials be placed?

Post Graduate

Baccalaureate

Associates

High School

8th grade

6th grade

Other

At what educational level should training be placed in the BSA?

That's a tough one. As a former District Trainer, I have had a wide range of student abilities, ranging from 18 yo high school students to MDs and PhDs, and all the blue collars and white collars and soccer moms in between. In my professsion, I have had a lot of experience in developing training and teaching adults, so I try not to "talk down" to anyone, but if there are questions, make sure they get answered before they leave, even if it meant "staying after class". It is challenging, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. I think the BSA materials are at the appropriate level, I just had issues with time...they allowed just enough time to read the syllabus and play the videos. Anything more in depth than that, and we ran overtime.