Best and Worst Merit Badge Books

I am new to do some MB counseling on the side. I am intending to purchase some MB books since our Troop library is depleted. Flipping through some of the books I see some are pretty good, some pretty minimal, and some outdated. I was wondering what the older wiser SM's think of the MB book quality? Which are great and which are duds?

Without making a value judgment, I'd advise taking a look first at the MB's which boys do most often, especially the ones required for Eagle. Then, consider that there may be planned changes which would require re-purchase soon. You might want to wait for the new versions.

Other than those two things, you don't really have much choice because BSA sets the requirements and changes them when they want to... and only the current versions are going to be sold at the scout shops.

Going to "color" dramatically improved the functional quality of the mb books, particularly for diagrams and illustrations and then there are the photos. Content quality, i.e. whether it is a good subject read regardless of merit badge, tends to be a reflection of the merit badge requirements. I think the new Robotics mb pamphlet has good content quality whereas Environmental Science well, needs more work.

Of all who actually read a merit badge pamphlet, I would guess the ratio is 70% MBC's, 25% parents, 5% scouts. When counseling a MB, my first questions are 1. Do you have this mb book? 2. Have you read it? The usual response is no and no. I wonder how many scouts ever read (not bought) the Swimming mb pamphlet.

I'm rambling but I see hardcopy pamphlets going away soon, replaced by iPocketknife apps and/or youScout videos with the "library" off in some scout cloud. More economical and easier to update and distribute.

My $0.01