Vocational Counciling?

I have a Scout Masters Hand Book from 1932. In Chapter XI of this book it explains that vocational counciling is an essential responsibility of the Scout Master.

"The Scout Master is urged to keep notes on his vocational conferences with the scout."

"The Scout Master should mobilize the best men in his community to act as vocational advisors to the boys"

The 1932 book goes on for several pages on the proper approach the Scout Master is to use to draw out the boys interests and aide the scout in deciding his vocational opportunities. This book ties in how the Merit Badge system can be used to assist the boy in chosing his vocation.

The current Scout Master Handbook does not list the word vocation in the index. Nor can one find career, job or employment in the index. A review of the current handbook has no reference to the Scout Master assiting the scout in vocational selection.

Why would vocational guidance no longer be a Scout Master obligation?

Would not this be an essential element in a boys-to-men program?

Should it be part of the Scout Progarm?

Its Me- I will have to re-read my 1958 (and favorite version) SM handbook and see what it says. Maybe it is no longer applicable because kids spend more time in school and at non-Scouting activities these-a-days then 75 years ago. I'm curious what vocational leanings were discussed during the great depression (as opposed to the current enormous depression) when so few jobs were available?

Local,

For the real story on the economy, visit the folks who maintin the correct information, not Katie Coric, the other network talking head, David Letterman and Jay Leno.

The Conference board has the data.

Visit

http://www.conference-board.org/economics/bci/pressRelease_output.cfm?cid=1

No offense friend,

G