Tenure based on Board of Review

Hypothetically...

A scout has met his tenure requirement for his Star rank and is ready and desiring to begin work on his Life, however, he has been advised that he may not count his time for tenure (for Life) until he completes a Board of Review. Problem is... the next BOR will not be held for at least 3 months. The Advancement Chair, CC and SM have been the sources for this advisory. The scout is in the process of completing all of the required Eagle MBs, and wishes to continue unabetted in his advancement. How can this situation be resolved, amicably... hypothetically speaking.

Your suggestions and advice are greatly appreciated.

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I am new to Boy Scouts, but 3 months seems like a long time between BOR's. My son's Troop offers the opportunity for one every month. Why can the Troop not offer one sooner if the Scout needs it? It seems that not doing this could be discouraging to him.

I have a copy of the Advancement Committee Guide. Here are some portions of it that may help

---------------------

page 17

Boy Scout Advancement

Clause 5: Basis for Advancement. The Boy Scout requirements for ranks shall be the basis for the advancement. There shall be four steps in Boy Scout advancement procedure: Learning, testing, REVIEWING (emphasis mine), and recognition.

Clause 7: Responsibility of the Troop Committee. It shall be the responsibility of the Troop committee, under the leadership and guidance of the local council, to make sure that the program of the troop is conducted in such a way that Scouts have an opportunity to advance on the basis of the four steps outlined in clause 5.

---------------------------

One of the four steps is "reviewing" which is explained on page 24 as: "After a Scout has competed all requirements for a rank, he has a board of review...."