Veteran Scouter and new leader

Hello everyone. I am a veteran scouter myself, tiger cub to eagle scout. I got my eagle in 2009 and now I have 2 kids myself that are in the scouting program. I have been a leader for 2 years now and am currently a bear leader with my oldest. My wife is the lion leader with my youngest. I am a 4th generation scout and my children are 5th generation, my great grandpa worked with Lord Baden-Powell in England helping to get scouts started, and my grandpa was a scout under Lord Baden-Powell. I am very much enjoying keeping the scouting tradition going in my family, and I'm also enjoying being a leader and helping to show kids just how great scouts can be. I am excited to get all sorts of new ideas from this forum and try to be the best leader I can. I can say that the difference between being a scout and getting to enjoy the program, and being a leader and administering the program, is staggering. There has been quite a learning curve in becoming a leader, but I am excited to learn from everyone how they administer the program! 

• Like 1
  • Upvote 1

Welcome, @Jadalexm

Despite the learning curve, it's lovely to pay the organizing forward. Our leaders organized for us, now we organize for our children's generation, passing the scouting torch down from generation to generation. 🙏

I'm only a second generation scout myself, my child is third. 

What has been your biggest challenge so far?

• Like 1
4 hours ago, AwakeEnergyScouter said:

Welcome, @Jadalexm

Despite the learning curve, it's lovely to pay the organizing forward. Our leaders organized for us, now we organize for our children's generation, passing the scouting torch down from generation to generation. 🙏

I'm only a second generation scout myself, my child is third. 

What has been your biggest challenge so far?