Varsity and Venturing are close enough to combine?

This is my first time here so hope this is correct. I have a question. In my council and others in the West I am starting to hear this kind of talk. When it comes to these two program, and it concerns me. In my opinion about the only thing these programs have in common is some high adventure activities. I say some because Venturer's can do much more then Varsity. I have training chairs that believe coach's should be trained with advisors and not scoutmaster's. I think they should all have seperste training but if you have to combine at least stay in the same division. This is just one example of many I am hearing. To me it is taking away from a great program. Am I out in left field or what? Help me I see this as a real problem.

I have not done much studing on the Varsity program, but my understanding of them does not suggest that Varisty and Venturing are close enought to combine. Venturing is a geared towards older youth that specialize in an area of interest, that could include a sport, but most likely does not. Varsity Scouting from what I understand is basicaly a Boy Scout troop that also competes in a sport durring the season and works on Boy Scout items durring the off season.

How many Varsity units are there, anyway? I have never seen or heard of one, and although I can't claim to have read every post in this forum, I have read a lot, and until the first post in this thread I have never seen anyone acknowledge being aware of any actual Varsity units. Nor have I heard any mention of actual units in either of the 2 other online Scouting forums I have participated in.