Politics & religion

After reading the "Eagle Scouts" and seeing Michael Moore being debated and more political squabbling, I thought I'd stir the pot some more! :-)

One of my favorite politicians, a life long Republican, is coming out with a book. I had a chance to meet him when I was in high school and he was running for Missouri attorney general. It was the same election as Nixon / McGovern. I was very leery of Republicans and thought his view on Government spending for private schools was way off base. As a side note, his brother was the Chancellor where I got my graduate degree. We need more public servants like him. Some of his thoughts on religion, gays, etc.

Q: In your book you write that 'no political agenda can claim to be God's will.' That argument is not going to persuade people who believe it can.

A: No, you're not going to persuade everybody, but let's have other people weigh in on this discussion, too. Let's hear from the people who do not believe that the kingdom of God can be reduced to a political platform. And let's hear from people who believe that the commandment that we love our neighbors as ourselves takes precedence over bashing gays, for example.

Q: How would that look, then, if more people were interested in reconciliation? Can you give an example?

A: Let's stick with the gay issue. This issue has become politicized for the purpose of appealing to the Christian conservative base of the Republican Party. It's difficult for me to imagine that, aside from that effort, that many people really think that gay marriage should be incorporated into the Constitution of the United States.

The Constitution is about the structure of government; it's about the relationship of the government and the people. It's not about behavioral issues.

The gay marriage issue gained currency in Republican politics because only one side was heard from. It's time for other people to say, 'Wait a second.'