Flag on guard uniform

ASHEBORO, North Carolina (AP) -- A prison guard says he was fired after he had United States and North Carolina flags sewn onto his uniform shirt and refused to remove them.

Bobby Hayes was fired last month as a corrections officer at the Randolph Correctional Center in Asheboro. He had been told to remove the patches from his state-issued uniform or turn it in.

"I'm a good officer -- or I was," said Hayes, who worked for the state Department of Correction for two years. "Sometimes there are orders that should not be given -- and that's one of them."

Hayes said he was told he was being fired for insubordination.

"They told me it might open the door for someone who might want to wear a neo-Nazi emblem," Hayes said.

Randolph Correctional Center Superintendent Clinton Holt declined to comment on Hayes' description of events, saying it was a personnel issue.

Holt did say the corrections department has a month-old appearance and grooming policy that dictates everything from jewelry to shoe colors -- "leaving little ... to individual expression," the policy states.

"If you let each individual express their own preferences on their uniform it's no telling what you'll have," Holt said. "'Uniform' means everything is the same. We're representing the state and someone has made the decision that this is how we'll look."

The flag isn't being slighted, correction officials said.

"This is not a matter of patriotism (as much) as it is a matter taken to maintain good order and discipline," correction department spokesman Keith Acree said. "If he wanted to make a suggestion he should have gone through the chain of command and not just slap a patch on there."

Hayes said he has appealed the firing.

-------------------------

If you go to the CNN page you can vote on was he being insubordinate or patriotic. Once you vote you can see the voting results so far.

http://www.cnn.com/2002/US/08/28/flag.uniform.ap/index.html