Name that adult patrol...

OK, guys, fess up. What is the name of your adult patrol?

Geezer patrol?

Dunlop Patrol? (patrol flag clearly showing an adult with what dunlopped over the belt...)

What's the best name y'all ever saw? Because I want to steal it.

julia

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

This might start a controversy, not that I have never done that before, but over the years I have been involved in 5 different troops and none had an adult patrol per se. This was by choice. Each of the units felt that it was important to leave the youth features of scouting with the youth. That we didn't want to infringe on thier program by imitating it as adults.

Don't get me wrong, I have no problem with units that have adult patrols names. I have seen some clever ones. But I have also seen it lead to adult patrols competing against scout patrols in a number of different ways and that lead to real problems. By not forming the adult patrol in the first place that problem never arose.

That being said we do an honorary patrol for parents who come on their first overnighter with the boys. It is called the Grumpy Bear Patrol and comes not with a patrol medallion, but with a very tongue-in-cheek certificate, Although we function as a separate patrol on campouts, camp separately, plan our own menu etc. We do it more as a quiet example of patrol method then anything else.

Bob

We're the Geezers, and just like Bob says, we try to do everything we do as an example. Want to eat like the geezer's do? Plan a better menu. Want to have more time to have fun or just sit and relax? if there are 10 people in the patrol, and all 10 do 15% of the work each, it's amazing how mush time is left for fun.