I thought the ACLU

I'm not a lawyer, but my understanding is that the ACLU generally represents people who have been affected by a given situation. A person suing has to have legal standing to do so. Someone in Kentucky can't sue a local government in Wyoming just because they don't like a law.

That's what I thought also shortridge, that's why this statement

I wish those who had bent public schools to their will of religious discrimination had voluntarily seen that public schools can't possibly charter private clubs that exclude atheists and had dropped them, instead of requiring the ACLU to threaten to sue public schools that violated the civil rights of their own students.

specifically the part after the last comma befuddled me.

The ACLU threatened to sue:

http://www.aclu-il.org/news/archives/bsaletter.pdf

"[rechartering units] would avoid the need for further litigation in Illinois regarding direct government sponsorship of Scouting"

Not only would an excluded atheist make a suitable litigant, but it probably could have been pursued like the WInkler case, which I think was brought on the behalf of Illinois/Chicago taxpayers against the Chicago school board.

but it probably could have been pursued like the WInkler case, which I think was brought on the behalf of Illinois/Chicago taxpayers against the Chicago school board.

Da trend in court rulings increasingly is to dismiss such cases for lack of standing. Rightly so, IMO. Taxpayers have recourse through da ballot box, they do not have standing to raise a civil complaint solely on the basis of being taxpayers.

Beavah

It seems that the ACLU would have a very firm and easily winnable case here.

A goverment giving tax dollars out to an institute that discriminates on grounds or religion and gender.

If you were a homo and didn't want your dollars going to the BSA through the goverment, you would have very good grounds. Why should your tax dollars fund a private institution that won't ever include you?