I am new to the scoutmaster position in our troop. After our last meeting ended, one of our scouts told me about what I would consider a serious incident of bullying that happened on a recent outing (namecalling, punching in the gut, pushing him down). I thanked him for being brave enough to let me know, and I told him I would speak to the offending lad. (offender had already gone home from the meeting) I asked the boy if this same boy had ever done anything before and he told me that at summer camp (which I was not SM, nor was I there), this boy did a lot of name calling and teasing.

Though I am new as SM, I am familiar with the offender, and have my suspicions that he has done things like this before, but I do not know for certain. So, if I treat this as his first offense (under my watch), what is the proper way to handle it? Is it appropriate to notify the offender's parents at this point, or do I just document it this time and speak to the boy and tell him this will not be tolerated. Should I involve a committee member?

Just a bit of background. The troop has no formal discipline policy in place. There is no documentation of any times when the old SM may have had to talk with any of the scouts over discipline issues. Over the past few months since my tenure, I have been trying to turn the troop into a boy-led troop, but as of this point, I dont think my SPL or PLC is ready to dole out discipline the scouts.

don

When I first became Scoutmaster, there were a couple Scouts who were real bully's - and they were also sons of an adult leader who had grown up in the Troop. It took me much longer than it should have to call them on their antics, and finally expel them from the Troop. Unfortunately, they caused a huge amount of damage and we lost a number of good Scouts before they left the Troop. Once they were finally gone, it was as if the sun had come out from the clouds. The remaining Scouts relaxed and we had so much more fun once their rein was over.