Merit Badge signoffs

I have read some of the comments on parents signing off on their kids MBs. My main question is if you are the only know councilor for that on in your general area should you sign them? I am new to MB counciling and do not wish to anger anyone but seem to be the only one available for some MBs. I also read in the books that the minium number of scouts to teach is two. I had planned to make sure that at leaste one other non-related scout attends any I have my son do. I would like to know how others feel about this policy. Thanks for your input!

A boy is not supposed to be alone with the MB counselor for child protection reasons--obviously this is not a concern if the boy is your own son. Even if he's not your son, you can counsel one boy if his parent is present, for example. I think it's a good idea to counsel other boys along with your son, though, because that would tend to blunt any criticism of your counseling your own son.

Ed's is correct. When I have to counsel my own son, I make sure his work is extremely well documented (more so than I would require of other scouts), just in case there is ever a question. It is probably adding to the requirements for him, but he understands the reasons.

I would agree that most of us are harder on our own sons. Unfortunately, there are those that are not. I personally get frustrated when I see that.

As for the counseling multiple scouts, I guess it would not be a big deal if the only person you were counseling was your son. Since the BSA's 1-on-1 contact rule doesn't apply to parents.

Also, my understanding is that the second person doesn't necessarily have to be a scout. Let's say a scout is the only one wanting to do Landscape Architecture. He could get a friend or a sibling to go along with him. As long as he is not alone. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe I heard this in MB Counselor Orientation.

Hi Firekat