I'm new to cub scouting. I am the CM of our pack and the Tiger den leader. I am going through the Duty to God with my Tigers and since I am pastor of my church I wanted to lead our scouts through this.

Most of what I have learned is hours and hours of scavenging the internet. However, the one question I can't get answer very straight forward is this.

Does the adult religious knot, the purple knot on silver background, have to be earned or is it nominated on?

I understand the honor of nominating leaders for awards however when a new pack starts up, there aren't many that know there are awards that are received through nomination. So a lot of leaders miss out on being awarded. 

As @blu said, the rules for each religious award are governed by that faith, usually by a committee designated for that purpose.  The award itself if conferred by the Church, not by the BSA.

In reviewing the awards, it does appear that for most of the awards, it is based on a nomination, for others there are requirements for completion which are usually different from the youth awards.  Sometimes it appears to be kind of a combination where there are requirements/goals/expectations and a nominator is used to verify that you have completed those goals. Being a pastor yourself, I guess normally they would expect you to nominate other adults you are associated with, if you think it appropriate; to receive a nomination yourself or to complete task requirements you may have to work with a fellow pastor.

For the specific issues involved, I recommend you contact the committee listed for the specific award you are looking at:

http://www.scouting.org/scoutsource/Awards/ReligiousAwards/chart.aspx

Probably just inquiring with the appropriate committee about how the award is earned by an adult may put you on their radar if it is based on a nomination process.

Welcome to the forums and thanks for your service to the boys!