Scout Pants Alternatives

Im a big guy, and looking for scout color pants to wear while camping, etc. I find that the crotch of my pants tends to wear out and I would like to save my expensive scout pants for formal occasions. I know the uniform police will probably shoot me for this post, but what is the 8th point of the scout law? (Thrifty)

Does anyone have a suggestion as to brands and colors??? One of my next steps is to call a uniform supply Co. in California, and see what trousers they have in LA County Sheriffs Green (I believe it is the same shade). Any other suggestions???

Jon

I'm looking for something that will look "class b" with a troop shirt, or that I can wear with a class A shirt for a retreat ceremony. Again, I know the "uniform police" will get upset, but my pants seen to take a beating, and I'm a student on a limited income.

I want something that looks a little better than jeans.

Thanks,

Jon

I found a pair of zip-offs at Land's End that matched the color of uniforms pretty well. They are great pants for outdoor activities. They are about the same cost as scout pants, but are much more functional. I've only had them a few months, so I don't know how durable they are. Sorry, I didn't save you any money, but it's a much more useful alternative.

FScouter,

Do you mean to imply that the BSA 'field uniform' is not to be worn in the field? Or that the 'activity uniform' is not to be worn while being active? Why should we not wear the uniform while camping? That is where 80% of the program is delivered! :)

To save time, I'd like to take a shot at filling in what the rest of this thread would probably say:

1. Someone will clarify that you don't need to wear the uniform when you are camping.

2. Someone else will explain that at summer camp and perhaps some other camping events uniforms are expected for certain parts of the event.