How do other methods support the Patrol Method?

I am still learning about the complexities of the Methods of Scouting.

I understand that they are not stand-alone concepts and are all inter-related.

If you only focus on certain methods, it decreases the effectiveness of the other parts of the program.

From what I have read is correct if you see that your program is lacking in one method you use the other methods to bring it up.

I am looking for ways the other methods support the Patrol Method to show the relationships between the methods.

I can easily see where the patrol method and leadership method are linked, but I am having trouble seeing some of the other relationships.

This is for a report that I am putting together for our Troop to improve in the patrol method.

I am finding that this concept and the relationships between the methods is very hard for some leaders to understand.

I think that if more time was spent in SM training or a course added to show the practical application of these methods would go a long way to see an overall improvement in units to follow the program

Great question CNY! I (and I'm sure others) would love to see what you write. Maybe you can post it when you're done?

Leadership - You hit that one. Most of the boy's early leadership experiences are going to be in the patrol environment. The patrol method is where he demonstrates the skills necessary for positions of greater responsibility, such as SPL, ASPL, Troop Guide or Den Chief.

Outdoor Program - This is where the Patrol method comes alive! In meetings and games, the patrol method has only limited success. But in the outdoors, when these guys live, cook, eat, sleep, breathe, together as a patrol... that is where they really see it in action.

Advancement - Loose ties in the early ranks, pointing the scout at recognizing their patrol. Personally, I'd like to see a little more emphasis - such as a requirement to participate in a patrol activity.