Tips for New Wood Badge Troop Guides...

Don't use the "pretty" versions of the slides for your presentations. The sorta white on camouflage came off so hard to read, it's not funny. Use the black lettering/white background instructor version.

DON'T READ THE DAMN SLIDE. I graduated HS, college, and grad school. I can read, dammit. Know your material and the underlying principles/theory/practice to ADD VALUE TO THE BULLET POINTS.

Can you tell I'm rather emotional about my second point?

I've not been a TG, but in other classroom environments I've found that white print on a blue background works great for PP slides.

And John is right... don't read the friggin' things to us. PP should enhance your presentation, not *be* the presentation. Most people fail to do this properly and, especiqally at Wood Badge, end up with an audience of ZZZZZZZ or people frustrated that you're wasting their time and insulting their intelligence. If your job consists of pressing the clicker and reading the slide, you know you have a poor presentation.

Also, same concept as PP, but don't read the handouts either. If you want to print out the notes from PP, hand them out after you're done. It's better if people write their own notes, because they learn more ofit that way. The print out can be used to supplement any parts they may have missed.

As a former TG/ASM for TGs I offer the following:

1. KNOW the material!! Backwards and forwards, inside and out.

2. Practice-Practice-Practice

3 BE THERE for your dens/patrols. As the TG you are Wood Badge to the participants. They deserve nothing less than your best.

Wally Hymel

Course Director

SR-957

March 2009

Wally brings up a good point:

For the inter-session, YOU will be the Troop for your Patrol. You cannot, cannot punt a question from a participant. If you defer anything beyond "I do not know right now, but I will get with the CD and get you an answer in 3 days" ... you'll be bypassed, not made into a resource.