Yesterday I presented a lesson on Dealing With Stress.

Working in a jail is very stressful and the stresses take their toll on the people who work within the razor topped fences.

Part of the lesson plan deals with bad ways of dealing with stress.

On my way home I got to thinking about how I deal with my own stress.

I'm not an expert in this kind of thing but even still I think that I know me better than anyone else.

I'm very aware that there are stress-ors out there and from the time the electronic gate clangs shut, early in the morning till I get to get out I'm under stress.

Jails are not as a rule very quite places. Inmates tend to want to be heard and will increase the volume until someone, even the person standing right next to them seems to be listening and getting something from what is being yelled. The truth is that he isn't listening and in not getting anything, all he is doing is working on what he is going to yell back.

The radio strapped to my hip never shuts up and the announcements over head just keep coming.

I think that I'm not taking that much notice but for my own safety and well being I don't dare block any of it out. For the safety and well being of others I need to be ready to respond.

I really don't say much at home about what goes on at work.

Days are planned to be very much the same, it's only when things go wrong that there's anything to talk about and I don't want my wife to spend her day worrying over me.

The guys at work never want to come off seeming soft so as a way of defense things become a joke. -Until someone gets hurt.

I'm a very sociable type of person. I like people and a lot of people seem to like and be able to get along with me.

Still I very much like my time alone away from everyone.

I enjoy my drives to and from work. Just me and NPR on the radio. Reports of whats happening in places in the world that I very often have never heard of before and know I'll never visit.