Are there any experienced sailing sailors out there? We're looking for a sail boat, but trying to nail down some details.

We'd need to haul it on a trailer wherever we went. It would have to have room for a crew of 4-6 at a time.

Small enough to bring the mast down and back up to go under a highway that cuts the lake in two.

Thanks for any advice.

I am by no means an expert on sailing or sailboats. However, I did once spend a week sailing on a lake. The biggest question I have is do you want to be able to sleep on the boat? Also, do you want to be able to do cooking, cleaning, and other such things aboard the boat? I am sure you can see how much of a difference it makes to know a bit more about what you intend. Another question, how much clearence is there for this bridge you mention?

From the little I know about various types of sail boats, if you want something that can take 6 people for 2 nights, have room for personal gear, food, cooking, cleaning, and possibly a marine head (depending on your choice and local regulations), be able to be trailered, and have a lowereable mast that can be raised and lowered while under way, you are in a real bind. I know of no boat that has all of those features. (particularly the mast part) Though just based on size I would say it would probably take a 27' or larger boat to have the size needed. (I sailed on a 27' that had berths for 5, and room in the floor for a 6th.)

If there are people that do sail on this lake you mentioned, find one of them and ask about their boat. I am sure they would be happy to give you the basics.

Now if all you are looking for is something for day sailing, I think you will find many options. There are many open boats that might work, and some of the smaller boats with cabins could also do the trick. Though I still think the mast will be an issue.