Are all registered leaders covered by the BSA insurance? Or does a leader also require at least basic training to be covered? Is there any change in coverage or lack there of for an untrained leader vs. one that has been trained?

As a Pack Trainer, I'm looking for more ammunition to convinces the "hold outs" to get trained.

Adults that want to work with this youth program need to be trained because TRAINED leaders understand WHAT needs to be done, WHY it needs to be done, and HOW to do it. Our boys don't need adults stumbling in the dark.

FScouter, you're preaching to the choir here. However, dispite all of the advantages of getting trained that I extol to our untrained leaders, I can't always get them to take the training.

I've tried everything from the it's fun, to the it'll save you time in the long run, to would you want an untrained leader in charge of your kid approaches, and still have two dens without at least one trained leader.

I'm working on them again with district training coming up again next month.(This message has been edited by MarkS)

Mark,

What is their main "issue" with taking training?? Is it time conflicts?? Don't want to pay for it/spend the time doing it/don't see the point? I assume from your statement that you've reminded them that every boy -deserves- a trained leader??

Anyway..I would start by telling any new leaders who come in that training is an -expectation- rather than an option...though you can't force them, if they come in with the feeling that this is something that is expected to run a good program, then IMO, they're more likely to go and do the training. Most councils are more than willing to provide them with lots of options for training..whether it's saturday's or at Roundtable or even coming to the Pack/troop to offer it at their convenience...If you have to...make them feel guilty about not being trained!! ;)