In need of Ideas.....

Hello!!

I am not with the Boy or Girl scouts. However, I will be volunteering at a camp next month called Wings! for girls and boys that have lost a close loved one. I thought this forum would have some experienced scouts that could possibly help me. I am in need for a creative activity to do around the campfire with 25 kids. Right now we only have a couple songs lined up and each camper will tell a story of their loved one that has passed away and then throw a pinecone into the fire. I need something else that deals with helping them cope with losing a loved one. ANY ideas will be MUCH appreciated!!!!!!!! Thank you in advance,

Jessica

lilzog

I hink you are doing a wonderful thing but you might not be taking the best approach. I have some experience with grief counseling as my parents were grief counselors for many years.

I would suggest you contact a local church that has a certified grief counselor and seek advice.

One problem you have is that what you propose you have no time control over, and with 25 people trying to tell a story your campfire could last for hours. Plus the goal is not to make people sadder than they are but to help them grow past their pain into a state where they can remember their loss but be able to accept it and function on a more positive level.

As an example having them walk up to the fire and add a stick to it as they say a positive characteristic that they remember about their loved one. They can see how the character of that person adds to the glow and the warmth of their fire. They can feel a postive uplifting feeling as the fire grows.

I am sure that a trained grief counselor could give you several other ideas.

Good luck

BW(This message has been edited by Bob White)