I have been posting for about a week now and figured I ought to introduce myself. I am in my 3rd year as SM, having served the prior 3 as ASM. This is my second go-around. My first experience was as a Cub Scout, Boy Scout, and Explorer. Eagle class of '78'. Earned my Eagle when I was still 12 (it was passed at National 2 weeks before my 13th birthday).

It is important to note that I earned it myself. My dad...who was scoutmaster during part of the tenure...made sure that I had to go earn the merit badge from another, but he retested me on it after I had passed to make sure I knew it. There was one time where I really didn't study the subject as well as I should. I managed to make my way through it and was signed off. Dad looked at the card, looked at me, and said 'Sit down.' and began to examine me on the subject, merit badge pamphlet in hand. It readily became clear that I did not know the subject as well as I should, so he made me ride my bike back to the counselor, apologize, and ask him to reschedule for another conference. I can guarantee that I knew the subject forward and back for that one and every one since. Being the age that I was (I was one of the youngest in my class, but also one of the biggest in height), I knew that there would be a fair amount of criticism for earning my Eagle at such a young age. I made it a point that by the time I was ready for my Eagle board of review, I had earned it with the then current requirements, but also from the requirements from the earlier years (which applied). My board was grueling. I had several scouters from other troops that sat in on it and was grilled extensively. Despite meeting the challenge, there were still a few who said I should not get it because I was too young. They were overruled and the rest is history.