Virtues of Scouting and Scout Sunday

I would like to talk about the virtues of Scouting and how important they are in helping you overcome potential problems in everyday life on Scout Sunday to our COR church. I am relatively new to this and need some good input.

Thanks!

breakingout

Breakingout, WELCOME!!

Are you struggling with the public speaking or the everyday value of the Scout Law?

Speaking effectively about all 12 chivalric virtues of the Scout Law in a single time and space might be overwhelming. It's life-encompassing aspect is what makes the Scout Law such a special list. I might suggest narrowing your focus to just a few.

Other options might be:

- bringing up 12 Scouts with each getting 60 seconds to discuss a single Law

- expound on a single one in ways we don't usually think -- e.g. "thrifty" as it pertains not just to money but rather to our time, or our talents, or our emotions

- search the net for "Scouts' Own" services. Often they will use the Scout Law as a starting point for verses, psalms and even non-Biblical readings and sayings that help highlight the individual virtues.

Good Luck! Let us know what you decide to do and how it works out! Many readers, posters or not, will benefit from your experience.

jd

(This message has been edited by johndaigler)

Answer to JD. I'm a Cubmaster. This is my third Scout Sunday Speech (still feel relatively new at this). I am not wild about public speaking(struggling) but I want to do this because I feel strongly this is important for the boys, their parents and the (COR)church.

Is there a difference between cubs and boy scouts virtues? The list I have is for 7; wisdom, courage, self-control, justice, faith, hope and love.