Brand New Adult Leader

I am a brand new adult leader. I am a floating Den Leader, mostly because i have no children, let alone any in the Pack, and am flexible. The Pack just changed Cub Masters, so everything is a little disorganized around here.

And then I get tapped to be a Unit Commisioner. I have three Packs, in varying states of disarray. Unfortunately (or furtunately, I'm not sure yet) I got assigned to my Pack. This doesn't seem to be a problem yet, I have no vested intrest in the Pack besides stability (I'm trying to work on it...) and it would be difficult to pull me into one side of an argument. nless it was the Church vs. the Pack, then I would be forced to take the church's side, as losing favor in the church could have lasting effects on my wife's job. I'm rambling again.

I earned my Eagle three years ago (I was rather late in realizing my time limit) and have been inactive in OA since 99. (trying to fix that)

I'm a college student, and can't seem to find all the time i need for everything on my plate (which is rather small to begin with.

I'm also new to my area, so I have no idea about the underlying structures of any of these organizations I've gotten myself tied to.

I believe that's all.

Not sure what a "floating" den leader is but if it is a den leader that is willing to take on a different den each year that's good.

I'd advise not being a den leader and commissioner for the same Pack but there is no rule against it (commissioner should be your primary role).

Good luck!

Welcome fellow Eagle. It is great to have someone here who is passionate about Scouts and about the church.

Don't try to do everything, it's okay to focus on a few things. Right now your wife, college and the Pack are plenty. You are beign a good Arrowman by serving the program. So pay your dues and wear your lodge flap with pride.

We look forward to hearing more from you.

By the way, what does your wife do for the church?

Welcome, Winter!