Hi All! I'm new to this web forum. I found it rather by accident. I was trying to set up a webpage for our Pack, and thought I'd make sure one didn't exist yet. When I googled "pack 3037," I was brought to this site under the following URL: packs.scouter.com. How can I get my pack a similar website? I'm only somewhat computer savvy, and I am learning something new everyday. Any ideas? Thanks!!!

Sarah, welcome...

First step is to find a webhost, as I think Scouter.com does.

Go to NetRoster, (top black bar),

Then ... below the green bar which says LOCATOR,

there is a light yellow bar which says ADD YOUR UNIT.

From there... it will push you through a page which isolates your unit to BSA,

Then to your Council

Then to the type of unit you have.. (Cub Scout Pack in your Case)

Then to a fill in menu which lists basic contact data.

That will get you databased here.

IF YOU WANT A WEBSITE, many units work through someone's ISP to be a webhost, or they procure a domain name and a webhosting service for a token fee per year. Then, they build AND MAINTAIN (that's the tough part) content. I'll say it again... maintaining the content is the tough part. Stale content means the group doesn't care.

There are a suite of rules for web content. KEY POINT: Do not let a youth member be personally identifiable!

Here are my home Council's rules, which I think are very close to the National standards:

http://hoac-bsa.org/ae_links/HOAC_internet_guidelines.pdf

Hope all this helps.

YIS John

Hi! Heres another suggestion: