Donation Jar Ban

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Look at the money raising application. Scouting and Venturing units are prohibiting from soliciting funds. Only council and districts may directly solicit donations of money.

Why? One reason is that they don't want every unit to be dipping into the pot when the FOS guy comes around and asks businesses for donations. Another is "dem's da rules."

However, if someone comes up and hands you a c-note and says, "Buy your troop some gear," you may accept it.

(Sigh)

Never mind. I wrangled the reasoning out of someone at council, who still didn't know where they could lay their hands on anything written.

I'm not good with the whole, "Just follow this rule" thing. It irked my teachers and professors.

Some Important Points:

Paying your own way. This is a fundamental principle of the Boy Scouts of America. It is one of the reasons why no solicitations (requests for contributions from individuals or the community) are permitted by Cub Scout packs. Young people in Scouting are taught early on that if they want something in life, they need to earn it. This principle is among the reasons that adults who were Scouts are found to have higher incomes. The finance plan of any pack should include participation by a Cub Scout in a regular dues plan.

An annual pack participation fee, too often completely contributed by parents, does little to teach a boy responsibility. The unit's entire budget must be provided for by the families, either through fund-raising or other means such as dues or fees.

and