Individual Scout accounts spreadsheet?

Any suggestions for keeping track of individual accounts for each boy? Is there a downloadable spreadsheet already setup for this kind of thing. I don't want to reinvent the wheel if I don't have to (especially since I'm a beginner at Excel).

I'd like to keep good records as we initiate this kind of thing, but don't know where to begin.

I don't know how complex the rest of your troop's financial record-keeping is but our troop recently (within the past 3-5 years) purchased TroopLedger from the same people who do TroopMaster. TroopLedger has the capability to track individual scout accounts and our treasurer seems to love it.

• 7 years later...

AwHeck,

I see your point that TroopLedger software does everything you'll probably need.

But as a professional programmer for 30 years, the look and feel of TroopLedger is SO clunky that it HURTS me to use it! It looks like it was written in the 90's and minimally updated. The fact that the full name is TroopLedger Millenium Edition, tells me they haven't updated this in 12+ years! And the Help documentation matches, with the old-school ways of teaching you how to use it. We've come a long way since 1990, but TroopLedger is stuck in the past.

I came to this forum looking for accounting help because I'm about to take over as Treasurer. The previous guy used an Excel spreadsheet, which it's customized to troop needs like TL, but it's a darn-site easier better looking!

We use Quickbooks for tracking our Pack finances.