I am a Varsity Scout Coach and I am trying to get the TRAINED badge, but my council does not have any Varsity specific leader training, so should I just do the ASM and SM? I want to be able to do Woodbadge next year, so I need the Trained before I do.

Thanks,

Robert

I suggest you present the question to your District Training Chair, or District Executive. While they may not offer it, suggest that someone from the training committee do a one on one with you, or ask if you purchase the syllabus and self train if they will acknowledge it. I self trained for COR, and now they've asked me to do a COR training for the District. It has to start somewhere!

Sometimes self-training is the only route to go. A number of years ago our Council offered no Webelos Outdoor training. A buddy of mine got the syllabus and taught ourselves and went on to lead the training for another 6 years until it was established enough that the council wanted to take it over. Surprisingly they did accept as valid our training, even if they weren't doing the training.

Stosh

• 3 weeks later...

Here is the question. If we do not have any leaders trained as Varsity leaders, can we still award the scout(s) the Varsity awards? I keep getting mixed information that I can not do the awards without approval from a Varsity leader.

Like you can not have a troop without a scout master.