Who Should Take Care Of Cub Scout Advancement?

I seen Cub Scout advancement as something that was more about having families work together, than being about the little Lads "Earning" or passing requirements.

I have to admit that I'd never heard of a Cub Scout Advance-aree.

With so many people not understanding the Boy Scout Advancement Method. I kinda think that this just is setting the wrong tone.

Eamonn.

I think it should be a group effort. The Den Leader needs to help keep them focused on the book. And the parents need to help them learn what is in the book. This is just talking about the rank badges.

We have a little something sort of like the "Advance-aree" but it's a weekend camping trip where they can earn up to 4 belt loops or none, it's up to them. This is my first year and I would hate to see that go away. Mostly because it looks like the only time my pack goes camping. And we (as a family) love to camp.

Diana

I think you are right. It is a group effort. THere are some things that should be done at home. Example, Achievement 12 in the Wolf Book. I see no reason why we should have to dedicate a whole meeting to this one. Unless you have a group of boys who do not mind talking about these things with everyone and doing this instead of other activities.

But as leaders, we also have a responsibility to help all those out. There are some things that are better done as a group. And a little more fun.

With cubs, it's supposed to be more family oriented.

My den leader assigns one achievement for homework every 2-3 weeks. Depends on Pack nights, weeks off for holidays, etc.

We make the boys write a sentence or two describing what they did for each stage of the achievement.

This way, we can confirm that the boys actually participated IN the activity, not just having overzealous parents (read as: ME) signing things off for more awards.

We do some of the requirements in meetings (food pyramid, birdhouses, flags), but most of them are at home objectives.