Cub Handbooks -> activity guides?

It's the end of the old year and the beginning of the new. So your boys have a pretty (if unecessarily expensive) new neckerchief and a shiny new handbook. . . .

How did you use the old handbook and how do you plan to use the new one?

Do you REALLY get Akelas to sign every line or just focus on experiencing activities that you know will help the boys reach their Achievement goals?

Do you REALLY ask the boys to bring the books to every Den meeting?

Here I am a DL and Pack Trainer and (for a short while longer) CC. I get very different answers depending upon whom I ask in my Pack. What kind of answers do you guys have?

jd

In my Wolf den last year...

I did ask them to bring them to every meeting.

What we did in the meeting I signed.

When it got close to the end of the year I took the books and put a sticky note on requirement pages that could be finished by the next week in the home.

BTW I did ALOT of my planning based on requirements out of the book. Not all, but lets face it, if I hadn't they probably would not have gotten completed.

Every requirement was signed off by the parent (Akela) or myself.

I plan on doing our Bear year the same way.

Carol

Boys are encouraged to work in their handbooks over the summer. The families are given a list of achievements that are planned to be done with the den. All others are family responsibility.

Boys are expected to bring books to den meetings. Before each Pack meeting the boys books are collected and brought home so that all items signed by parents or done in den meetings can be initialed/dated by den leader and then transfered to den leader records.

Periodicly, notes are sent home with outstanding family done achievements listed.

This is how I ran my son's den thru Cub's & how I run my Tigers now. With the exception that the Tiger achievements are already broken up into den & family in their handbook.

Boy am I gonna get it for this!