recuiting non cubbies for boy scouts

Hello everyone, I am fairly new to scouts, (been asst for a couple of yrs) Our scoutmaster is stepping back and asked if I would take over. I dont have the experance he has but willing to try. I am looking for ways to recruit some new boys to scouting, and I read somewhere on here to invite non scouts to scout functions. I think that is a good idea, camping, high adventure, etc. My question is what type of liability will the Scouts have if a non scout gets hurt?? Myabe sign some type of waiver before going??

Thanks

I would echo both those gents.

Think simple.

Get the exisitng Scouts to bring a buddy to a simple overnight at a council camp. Go fishing. Make pies in a dutch oven. Make popcorn in a dutch oven with real butter. Teach a non Scout how to make pancakes. Teach a boy to paddle a canoe. Most Scout aged boys have never piloted anything more than a bicycle. Flip over rocks in a stream. skip stones off the water. Enjoy a good campfire.

The buddy already in the troop is a huge motivation.

Invite the parents of the prospects also.

If you have access to a public school, you can register 28% of the sixth grade boys if you use my recruiting presentation (and have the "1916" outdoor program that it promises):

http://inquiry.net/adult/recruiting.htm

That 28% registration does not count the Webelos who already crossed over to other Boy Scout Troops from Cub Scout "feeder" Packs.

Yours at 300 feet,

Kudu

Has anyone used Kudu's suggestion, or something similiar? Our Cub Packs are struggling locally, so we're very interested in trying to recruit 6th grade boys.

I'm anticipating problems asking to pull all 6th grade boys out of class for a presentation. What about the girls? Do they sit in the classroom idly while this is going on?

Mike,