Weekly Meetings, success or failure?

It was lack of leadership and disorganized and BORING meetings.

Yah, thus endeth another young scout's career, eh?

I've been doing this scoutin' stuff for several decades now. Not once have I ever heard a scout say that he's there for the meetings; most of the times scouts from Eagle on down say that meetings are at best "tolerable" or "necessary evils." Plannin' and runnin' a tight, highly organized meeting for multiple ages is a task that can exceed the skills of youth and many adults.

Does anyone out there have consistent meeting success, such that their boys will tell a BOR that "the meetings are great, it's one of the big reasons I'm here?" If so, what are you doing? Even the great troops around here are spotty at best meeting wise.

And, if our record is such that 95% of da troops out there aren't very successful at weekly meetings, why in tarnation don't we just subject parlor meetings to a G2SS laser-tag ban? "Boring any scout by making him attend a weekly indoor meeting is an unauthorized activity."

Beavah,

We don't do boring.

http://share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=1AcMm7hu4ZsXJw

Granted, these photos are from a monthly Pack meeting, and not from a weekly Troop meeting, but I don't think our Den meetings are too boring, either.

Program was presented by Steve "The SnakeMaster" Scruggs.

http://www.letsgetwild.net/

Aren't Boy Scout meetings planned and lead by the boys?

Troop meetings are mostly planned by the boys. But we can't forget the adult guidance. (Adult interaction is one of the methods, I believe?)

True, the boys mostly like the outdoors stuff: camping, hiking, and so forth. BUT they need the weekly meetings in order to plan those outings, begin learning new skills that they will be called upon to use on those outings, etc. As adults, we need to help them see the importance of those weekly meetings.