Why Units AND Membership?

I have often wondered about this and since we seem to have a number of Scouting professionals and/or former pros active right now, I have this question:

What is the reasoning for increasing both membership AND Units? I understand the membership part. I know if you are not increasing, you are shrinking and that's never good. I just don't understand the logic of having DE's have a goal of starting new units annually. Wouldnt it be better to have a goal of adding so many more members to the District whether in exisitng units or new ones? As discussed in many places, one bigger unit that can do more things based on size and resources and can provide a much better experience for the youth than multiple smaller units that struggle to get much participation.

I'm no scouting professional, but I would think the impetus behind unit growth is to expand scouting's reach in an area through greater opportunities for affiliation with more institutional partners. While pure membership growth is enough of a belt to hold up the pants, growth in partnering relationships are the suspenders needed over the long haul to make sure we never, ever expose ourselves.

Couple of reasons I suppose...

1. There are potential scout recruits affiliated with the new CO (e.g., church members) that either do not know about the other units in the area or for one reason or another are adverse to joining the other units.

2. Offers some level of protection against a CO pulling the plug on a unit, leaving boys high and dry until a new CO can be identified.

3. One of the simplest ways to increase membership is to increase units. New units, while causing some shuffling of the deck in an area, does produce new members that have not been involved in scouting before.