Meaningful Training vs Checking Boxes

Introduction to Outdoor Leadership Skills Versus Wilderness First Aid:

Please read my whole posting: I am hoping that I can receive some thoughtful, clear responses. There was a very similar posting recently.

I am more concerned with the effect on re-chartering and meaningful training.

In looking over the newer Scoutmaster requirements, I am seeing some councils requiring the Intro to Outdoor Leadership skills class. I also had seen a few that even appear to go so far to say that you may not be allowed to re-charter without this.

My time is valuable. I can clearly understand a rational requirement for something like Wilderness First Aid. (Nope, that is not required, YET, but I believe that would be a meaningful requirement).

I am a pro-training person. Especially so when there are clear safety issues at heart. I do this all the time in my paying job.

But this one I am having a hard time swallowing. I even went to our district and asked if there was a Test-Out option as a few councils in our state allow. I was bluntly told no and that our council would not allow that. Not sure if that was someones personal opinion, or a real council policy as our district is known to be quirky.

As I reviewed my Guide to Safe Scouting, and the new Local and National Tour Plans, I see not mention of this being an official requirement.

I have a sneaking feeling I am being put on the path to chase a Trained patch, not something that would be helpful to our troop and the boys. Yes, I do have all the other required training plus a bunch more.

Any body out there having similar experiences? Or that can shed some light on this?

Making an old Eagle and former Army NCO demonstrate square knots, start fires and disinfect water does not pass the smell test. Especially when I am asked to spend 2 days doing it. I really feel like I am dealing with bureaucrats who just want to check off a box, not improve a program.

• Replies 39
  • Created