I'm a new Webelos leader...

I recently became the Webelos Den Leader. Our old leader left the week of Blue and Gold (last week). Next week will be my first time as Den Leader.

My boys have only been in Scouts since this past September, so I am new to Scouts. I have twins in the Webelos Den.

This den is a 1st year Webelos Den. How do I step in and getting them moving on the AOL trail? The past leader was busy most of this past year, so not much time was spent working on Badges. The boys barely finished the Webelos rank requirements before B&G. Some sadly...didn't finish, and still received rank. I know for a fact, only my twins knew any of the Boy Scout stuff (oath, slogan, law etc.) This den is really rowdy, and in the past few weeks, have gotten worse. It's not just talking...they hit, run around, and more. It is really disturbing for the others who want to learn, so I realize they need to be given some rules to follow to start.

I want to get them on the right track to cross over to BS's next year. Having never done this before though...I am a little scared.

Their schedule has Engineer badge next (from the old leader and the assistant leader). So, I put some things together to get that started (trips, projects, speakers etc.) The den has not had any outings aside from one trip to a radio station, so I want to get them out, and into learning.

What should I get to start off? I go to training in March, and a week later, to Pow Wow.

I bought a shirt and the Webelos Den Leader book. Do I also need the Cub Scout Leader book? Our Cubmaster is also the ASM for our local troop...so he has been too busy to help me get started much, aside from giving me the registration and training forms.

So any tips and ideas would be helpful!

Thanks

Patti