Scouts and Prescription medication.

Seems to me that this comes up a lot in the forum.

As others have posted the Guide To Safe Scouting states:

Prescriptions

The taking of prescription medication is the responsibility of the individual taking the medication and/or that individual's parent or guardian. A Scout leader, after obtaining all the necessary information, can agree to accept the responsibility of making sure a Scout takes the necessary medication at the appropriate time, but BSA does not mandate nor necessarily encourage the Scout leader to do so. Also, if your state laws are more limiting, they must be followed.

While maybe a lot of people seem willing to ignore this or go with what they think is best (Sometimes in my opinion with good reason.)

This is what the Guide has to say on the subject.

For my part, while I'm up to date with all of the First Aid Training's. (I have to be for my job!)

I'm not a Doctor or in any way qualified to be handing out medications.

At work, if an inmate comes to me asking for some sort of medication, I tell him that I can't and he needs to go to the Medical Department.

With Scouts if a Lad asks me for some sort of medication, I have to tell him that I need the permission from his parent.

I can and do see good reasons why a leader might want to store Scouts medications in a safe place.

This might be seen as being a little different than accepting the responsibility of making sure a Scout takes the necessary medication at the appropriate time?

While of course OJ is now an adult, back when he was a Boy Scout he suffered with allergies. The medication he took moved from being a prescription medication to a over the counter medication. I as his parent was happy that he knew how and when to take these pills and didn't feel the need to ask anyone to dispense them to him.

I did list on the medical form that he suffered from allergies and that he took this medication.