Our existing cub scout pack is starting a boy scout troop.

We are on a limited starting budget and are looking for examples of yearly budgets that other troops may share with us. I'm very new at this and if anyone is will to share a budget of expenses that we should be aware of that would be greatly appreciated!

How big and bad do you want to be???

Big swing in budget amounts depending on lots of things...

number of starting boys?

equipment goals, C.O. and parent resources?

can the kids supply themselves at first with camping gear?

type of area you reside in ie urban, suburban, rural?

areas with good incomes/jobs have non troop resources that can be tapped to help.

(did your pack do pot luck for Blue and gold or did it have a catered affair...really, alot depends on "to what you have become accustomed", or can accept.)

New troop I helped, started on less than $200 with 'services' and paper donations from parents and now email cuts the need for newsletters and flyers.

Old Troop I work with can run on as little as $700 per year for 35-50 scouts, including camping resupply (propane etc) or as much as $10,500...(major equipment purchases)

the actual start up cost is really not bad for small, new group...Flags are usually the CO's gift and outside of membership fees, each boy will cost the troop less than twenty dollars a piece for a years worth of patches and awards...equipment, however, is another thing!

anarchist

ex troop equipment guy

Hi,welcome to the forums.

If you look back to the pack budget, you will see the basics.Rechartering, Boys' Life magazine along with the cost of insurance. Say a ballpark number of $30.00 Per Scout.

You might be able to borrow camping equipment from another troop or the Council to get started. I very much like the idea of troop/patrol equipment. This is very expensive. Please buy the best quality that you can afford.

Visit another troop and ask to see what they have in their QM's store.