the power of a scoutmaster

I was just wondering, what is the BSA policy in throwing a scout out of the troop? Sure, blatant and obscene obstructions of rules and regulations regarding such things as violence and whatnot could indeed provoke such a drastic doing, but can something as simple as youthful "disrespect" be a reason for throwing a kid out of a troop?

If so, is it the scoutmaster's and/or committee's decision to do so, or must the decision be presented to the local district or council?

You'll need to give us more information.

can something as simple as youthful "disrespect" be a reason for throwing a kid out of a troop?

I don't think you'll get much support from this group for that. If this were the case, all of our packs and troops would likely be much smaller. I have a few boys that I have a constant problem with. One in particular is a special project that I have been working on for many years. I've used the "live by the Scout Oath & Law" requirement for rank advancement as a measuring stick for him to grow by. At every level I expect him to improve his behavior. Eventually, I hope to have a well-mannered, mature Eagle Scout. If not, at least he will have grown some along the way.

If you do have "grounds" for removing a boy from the troop, it is imperative that you have the Troop Committee and Charter Organization on board with you.

I never thought as myself as having power?

As adults we are here to serve the Scouts. While I agree that there are some behavior that can not be allowed or tolerated: Bullying, Hazing, use Of Drugs and Alcohol and that list could go on.