Which GPS best fits my needs?

I have no GPS experience.

I'm seeking advice on which GPS would best fit my needs.

I want to map equestrian trails at a Scout Camp. I want the ability to download these trail maps to a PC so I can print them out to familiarize new Scouts with the trails. Do the GPS' come with topo maps or do I have to purchase that seperately? With no GPS experience I am seeking something easy to use with a ceiling of about $200. At some later date I may want to use the GPS for hunting, fishing, and hiking as well.

I would appreciate any advice.

Thank you.

If you have a local REI, I'd start there.

You can learn the features and prices of the GPS receivers and, most importantly, how to use them. You may find that your current concept of "must have" features isn't entirely accurate.

Ah, the allure of the Great Plastic Sextant.

Like any consumer electronic, the more you pay, the more features you get. Most you will find cool, but unnecessary. I would suggest looking for PC based topo software first that is GPS compatible, like National Geographic Topo!. Then look for an economy GPS that will connect to the PC. All major brands will work. The GPS will download a track to the software and you can view it on the PC. The other nice thing about PC based topo software is you can print a copy of the map for every member of your party. Can't do that with GPS based maps.

Another neat thing you can do with the PC software is set up way-points graphically, then download them to the GPS. Then print the maps for reference on the trail. This can be real handy when climbing mountains as you can tell exactly how far and how long you are from the summit before you get there. Can give some incentive to weary people in your party.