Jump to content

New Rank Requirements - Old or New?

Recommended Posts

We have several 2nd year Scouts who have completed requirements in Tenderfoot, Second Class, and First Class Ranks using the "old" handbook.


One of them just completed his Tenderfoot Rank. Does he use the new Handbook to finish the Second and First Class Ranks, or does he use the "old" handbook to finish those (since he already started them under it) and use the "new" handbook for Star.


Please provide official reference info if possible.



Link to post
Share on other sites

The tenderfoot will use the 2nd Class requirements from the 12th Edition (New) Handbook.


From: http://www.scouting.org/scoutsource/BoyScouts/Youth/Awards.aspx


Rank Requirement Changes for 2010

The centennial edition of the Boy Scout Handbook will soon be available, and with the new handbook come several rank requirement changes that will be in effect as of January 1, 2010. A Scout should complete the requirements he is working on, and when he advances to the next rank he should then begin using the new requirements.


From: http://www.usscouts.org/usscouts/advance/changes/advchanges10.asp


A new 12th edition of the Boy Scout Handbook (34622) was issued in the summer of 2009. That book contains new requirements for each rank listed below, which did not officially take effect until January 1, 2010. Scouts working toward ranks in 2009 could use the new requirements, or could continue to use the old requirements, at their option. If a Scout started work toward a rank before January 1, 2010, using the requirements that were current before January 1, 2010, he may complete THAT RANK ONLY using the old requirements. Any progress toward a rank that is begun after January 1, 2010, must use the requirements as they are presented in the Boy Scout Handbook (34622) or in the 2010 Boy Scout Requirements book (34765). The fact that a Scout can work on the requirements for Tenderfoot, Second Class and First Class simultaneously does NOT mean that he is "working toward all three ranks". He can NOT use the old requirements for all three. Similarly, if a Scout has multiple merit badges, he is NOT "working toward Star, Life, and Eagle". He may only use the old requirements for the NEXT rank he completes.





Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...