New CubMaster....not good at talking in front of people.

I am currently a new Cub Master in training, and will be taking over in January. The only problem, is that I know I'm not very good at talking in front of people. (The current one is REALLY good at it).

What type of training does BSA have for something like this? I'm not one that has one of those really awsome personallities (bubbly, etc.), and I'm not afraid to actually get up in front of a lot of people.. I just know that I am boring as hell to listen to, and don't capture peoples attention very well.

In other words...I need help.

Any advise would really be appreciated.

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!! and welcome to the club. i do public speaking to a large degree at work and am an assistant cubmaster with a cubmaster who can sometimes get a little dry. we spark it up with not being afraid to embarass ourselves, crack jokes, keep it short and to the point. use skits, run-ons and engage the boys. ask them questions and use silly questions also. allow yourself to "act larger than life". i jump up and down in front of my cm's face to get his attention while he ignores me and i get the kids into trying to get him to pay attention for example. dont be nervous, no one will know you are nervous. that pause that feels like an hour is only a few seconds and no one really notices. if the natives get restless, then you know its too long. dont make excuses to the kids that you are nervous or dont know what you are doing. just have fun. you obviously took this position because you cared, let it shine through (and dont forget to use the sparklers book, skits and program helps for some silly things to do). good luck!!!!!!!!!!

Don't be afraid to "let your hair down". Have some fun with it. You may want an assistant to handle the "public" end, if you're uncomfortable, and you handle the administrative duties. There's more than enough for work two in most packs.